Hadeeth Three (الحديث الثالث ): Islam is Built on Five  

Posted by Student in ,

Hadeeth Three Explained *updated and complete*:

الحديث الثالث
عَنْ عَبْدِ اللهِ بْنِ عُمَرَ رَضِيَ اللهُ عنْهُما قَالَ: سَمِعْتُ رَسُول اللهِ يَقُوْلُ: بُنِيَ الإِسْلاَمُ عَلَى خَمْسٍ؛ شَهَادَةِ أَنْ لاَ إِلَهَ إِلاّ اللهُ، وَأَنَّ مُحَمَّدًا عَبْدُهُ وَرَسُولُهُ، وَ إِقَامِ الصَّلاَةِ، وَإِيتَاءِ الزَّكَاةِ، وَحَجِّ الْبَيْتِ، وَصَوْمِ رَمَضَانَ
. رَوَاهُ البُخَارِيُّ وَمُسْلِمٌ
From Abu 'Abdur Rahamn 'Abdullah ibn 'Umar ibn AL-Khattab رَضِيَ اللهُ عنْهُ that he said: " I heard the Messenger of Allah صلي الله عليه وسلم say, 'Islam is built on five: witnessing that there is no god but Allah and that Muhammad is the Messenger of Allah, establishment of prayer, payment of zakah, Hajj of the House, and the fast of Ramadhan'."
[Bukhari and Muslim narrated it]

Islam is buit on five pillars, five funadmentals and beliefs. Our Islam is built on these things, they are our basis without which our Islam would not be firm. One central pillar stands out more than others, this is our main piller which is our shahadah (testification of faith). If we lack in any of the five pillars our basis and foundation of our Islam will be weak.
These five fundamentals are:
  1. Shahadah - declaration of faith, that Allah is our Lord and Muhammad is his Messenger صلي الله عليه وسلم and servant.
  2. Iqamatus Salah - establish prayer, many a times we see the word iqaam and aqeemu with salah rather than sallu. The difference between sallu and aqeemu is that sallu is merely used for praying sayah and iqaamah is used for establishing prayer. The difference can also be used by taking an example of one who pays salah as if they are mere actions very fats and a person who prays salah with full devotion and conviction on a stage and level of ihsaan (explained in hadeeth two). The first is just praying salah and the other is actually establishing prayer. To reach the level of ihsaan without doubt is difficult, but something we should and need to work on attaining. In earlier times people were not judged about their faith according to the length of their beards nor their amaamah of thowb, instead true identity of faith was determined by prayer. The severity of missing salah is so bad that some 'Ulema have called one who intentionally misses prayer a kaafir, others even say it is necessary for such a person to renew their nikah. This in itself should help us not miss any of our salahs.
  3. Iytaa'iz-zakah - to give zakah, the word iytaa' has been used as we have to ensure that when we give this obligatory charity we give it in accordance to the rules and regulations et out by shariah.
  4. Hajjil Bayt - to perform hajj of the house in accordance to all the rules and regulations set down by shariah. When when goes to perform the pilgrimage it should be such that they educate themselves before going to ensure everything is done correctly.
  5. Sawmi Ramadhan - To keep the fasts of Ramadhan. The fasts of Ramadhan are not just abstaining from food and drink, however it is attaining a level of God-consciousness, taqwa. We need to be aware that in whatever we do Allah Most High is watching us and knower of all deeds.

Each of these pillars hold an important position in Islam, hence we should strive to uphold each and every one of them.

I pray Allah ta'ala give us all the ability to carry out the duties commanded to us by the Qur'an and ahadeeth to the best of our ability. Ameen

This entry was posted on Thursday, June 26, 2008 at Thursday, June 26, 2008 and is filed under , . You can follow any responses to this entry through the comments feed .



good to see your blog, we also work with turath...

please find our blog at:

also feel free to comment, we have a selection of material on there


27 June 2008 at 15:42

Post a Comment